Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Ealing Cricket Club app

View

Peter Hughes

By Louise Chippendale

Sad News...

It is with deep regret that we announce the sad news that Peter Hughes died peacefully on Tuesday 5th Feb. He was 96 and in the words of his son Simon “he’d had a great innings!”
Simon spoke to John Poore to say that Peter had gone downhill after Christmas and went into hospital with pneumonia on Thursday 31st Jan.
Peter had been a member of Ealing Cricket Club for over 50 years and worked closely with Mervyn Mansell to introduce and build a thriving Colts Cricket section. As acknowledgement for his tireless work he was awarded Life Membership of Ealing Cricket Club.
He leaves a wife Erica, son Simon Peter Hughes, also known as The Analyst and is an ‘England’ cricketer and journalist, and daughter Bettany who is a classical historian and broadcaster, plus numerous grandchildren.
A service to remember Peter is at St Matthews Church, Ealing Common at 2pm on Friday 22 Feb followed by a reception at the EalingCC 3.30-6pm.
All welcome.

Updated 10:20 - 27 Feb 2019 by Chad Barrett

Where next?

Women & Girls Players Wanted Calling all Women Cricketers
New Colt Training Times See your New Training Times

Comments

Loading comments

Fixtures
Tue 18 Jun
h
League TBC
h
League 18:00
a
League 18:00
h
Under 10 As Ealing Cricket Club
Friendly 18:00
h
Under 10 Bs Ealing Cricket Club
Friendly 18:00
Wed 19 Jun
h
League 18:00
a
League 18:00
Thu 20 Jun
h
League 18:00
a
League 18:00
h
League 18:00
Fri 21 Jun
a
League 18:00
Sat 22 Jun
h
Under 10 As NA
Training 09:45
h
Under 10 Bs NA
Training 09:45
h
League 11:00
a
League 12:30
h
League 12:30
a
League 12:30
h
League 12:30
h
Ealing Hanwellians 1st XI Alexandra Park CC - 1st XI
League 13:00
a
Ealing Hanwellians 2nd XI Alexandra Park CC - 2nd XI
League 13:00
Sun 23 Jun
h
Invaders U11 Titans U11
League 09:00
h
Wolves U11 Rhinos U11
League 09:00
h
Under 11 As Primrose Hill
Friendly 09:30
a
Under 9 Bs South Hampstead CC
Friendly 09:30
a
League 10:00
a
League 10:00
a
Under 9 As Acton
Friendly 10:00
a
League 13:00
h
League 13:30
Mon 24 Jun
h
Under 15 Bs Wembley CC - Under 15
League 18:00
a
League 18:00
h
Friendly 18:00
Tue 25 Jun
h
League 18:00
h
League 18:00
a
League 18:00
h
League 18:00
Wed 26 Jun
h
Under 12's Girls Harrow CC - Girls Under 12
League TBC
a
League 17:30
h
League 18:00
Thu 27 Jun
h
League 13:00
a
League 18:00
h
Under 13 Cs Wembley CC - Under 13
League 18:00
a
League 18:00
Sat 29 Jun
h
Under 10 As NA
Training 09:45
h
Under 10 Bs NA
Training 09:45
a
League 11:00
h
League 12:30
h
League 12:30
a
League 12:30
a
Ealing Hanwellians 1st XI Kenton CC - 1st XI
League 13:00
h
Ealing Hanwellians 2nd XI Wycombe House CC - 2nd XI
League 13:00

News sponsors

Affiliations

Club sponsors