Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Ealing Cricket Club app

View

Peter Hughes

By Louise Chippendale

Sad News...

It is with deep regret that we announce the sad news that Peter Hughes died peacefully on Tuesday 5th Feb. He was 96 and in the words of his son Simon “he’d had a great innings!”
Simon spoke to John Poore to say that Peter had gone downhill after Christmas and went into hospital with pneumonia on Thursday 31st Jan.
Peter had been a member of Ealing Cricket Club for over 50 years and worked closely with Mervyn Mansell to introduce and build a thriving Colts Cricket section. As acknowledgement for his tireless work he was awarded Life Membership of Ealing Cricket Club.
He leaves a wife Erica, son Simon Peter Hughes, also known as The Analyst and is an ‘England’ cricketer and journalist, and daughter Bettany who is a classical historian and broadcaster, plus numerous grandchildren.
A service to remember Peter is at St Matthews Church, Ealing Common at 2pm on Friday 22 Feb followed by a reception at the EalingCC 3.30-6pm.
All welcome.


Updated 10:20 - 27 Feb 2019 by Chad Barrett

Where next?

Women & Girls Players Wanted Calling all Women Cricketers
New Colt Training Times See your New Training Times

Comments

Loading comments

Fixtures
Wed 24 Apr
a
League 18:00
h
League 18:00
a
Under 10 As Wembley CC - Under 10
League 18:00
Thu 25 Apr
h
League 18:00
a
League 18:00
h
League 18:00
Fri 26 Apr
a
League 18:00
Sat 27 Apr
a
Ealing Hanwellians 1st XI Osterley Cricket Club
Friendly 11:00
h
Ealing Hanwellians 2nd XI Osterley Cricket Club
Friendly 11:00
h
Friendly 12:00
h
Friendly 12:30
Sun 28 Apr
a
Under 9 As Primrose Hill
Friendly 09:30
h
Under 10 As U11s
Friendly 10:00
h
Ealing Hanwellians 2nd XI Global Cricket Club
Friendly 11:00
h
1st XI Aston Rowant
Cup 13:00
h
League 18:00
Mon 29 Apr
a
League 18:00
a
League 18:00
Tue 30 Apr
a
League 18:00
Wed 1 May
a
League 17:30
a
League 18:00
a
League 18:00
h
League 18:00
a
League 18:00
Thu 2 May
a
Under 13 Bs Wembley CC - Under 13
League 18:00
h
League 18:00
Sat 4 May
h
Ealing Hanwellians 1st XI Hayes Cricket Club
Friendly 11:00
a
Ealing Hanwellians 2nd XI Hayes Cricket Club
Friendly 11:00
h
1st XI Wimbledon CC
Friendly 12:00
h
Friendly 12:00
a
Friendly 12:00
a
Friendly 12:30

News sponsors

Affiliations

Club sponsors